[RECIPE] Green Tea Bundt Cake

I love tea. I love desserts. Bundt cake – or, really, any cake – fits under the aforementioned category. Green tea Bundt cake fits under both the aforementioned categories. Hence, when I came across this recipe, I froze – I had to make it. Plus, it was intriguing: the only liquids used were sour cream/Greek yoghurt, eggs, olive oil, and flavoring extracts. I just had to!

The Before!

On another topic that slightly veers off… it always amused me how there’s a cake named after the fact that it’s baked in a ring-shaped pan – a Bundt cake pan. Either way, cake is cake and I guess a cake shaped a certain way a lot more festive! Not to mention amusing to those unfamiliar with it…

Friend A: What’re you eating?
Friend B: A bundt cake.
Friend A: What’s that?
Friend B: A cake shaped like a Christmas wreath.
Friend A: …right.

Either way, I gobbled it up!

Last Bite!


Green Tea Bundt Cake

(original recipe here)

INGREDIENTS
1.5 cups of Unbleached All Purpose Flour
1/2 cup of Whole Wheat Flour
1 cup and 2 tablespoons of Evaporated Cane Sugar
2 tablespoons of Matcha powder
2 teaspoons of Baking Powder
1 teaspoon of Vanilla Powder
1/2 teaspoon of Salt
1 cup (8 ounces) of Sour Cream/Greek Plain Yoghurt
1/3 cup of Olive Oil
3 large Eggs
1/2 teaspoon of Almond Extract

INSTRUCTIONS
Preheat the oven to 350 F/180 C and lightly grease a Bundt pan.

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients by whisking or sifting, making sure there are no lumps. Set aside.

In a mixing bowl, beat the eggs with the sour cream/yoghurt until just combined. Pour in the oil and extract and mix together until homogeneous.

Mix the wet ingredients with the dry by folding it in until incorporated; take care not to over-mix/beat it.

Transfer to the prepared pan and bake for about 35 to 40 minutes or until a tester inserted in the middle comes out clean or with only a few crumbs clinging to it. Let it cool in the pan for around 20 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Slice and enjoy!

NOTES/COMMENTS

  • I have vanilla powder on hand, but it’s interchangeable with vanilla extract. I added a drizzle more olive oil to the batter in addition to the fact that I greased the pan with olive oil. I added a little more green tea (around 1/2 a teaspoon) and only added 1 cup and 2 tablespoons of sugar, as opposed to the original 1.5 cups.
  • The batter is really thick, which was why I added a little more olive oil. Adding it into the pan, I was getting worried and it glumped on down and it barely filled the pan one-third of the way. However, I went ahead and popped it into the oven. After all, the batter tasted pretty good. 🙂
  • End result: the middle of the cake was moist and dense, just like the original author said! The outside had the slight crust feel I like. I could detect the slight tang from the yoghurt, but since I liked yoghurt, I loved it. I also loved the hint of green tea. The best part was it isn’t too sweet. All in all, a success. Just be sure to try to press down on the batter before baking. Because it’s on the thick side, if there are air bubbles at the bottom, it will bake into a cake with air bubbles. Thank goodness mines are small.
  • A note for bundt cake bakers: is there a way to keep the “crust” at the top of the pan and the “crust” touching the pan from being so radically different?
Leave a Reply

