[RECIPE] Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

I love food. I have not encountered a food that I absolutely hated, though I admit I have preferences (one cannot be perfect, after all).

Every once in a while, I would encounter an intense craving for a certain food: a tomato-based pasta dish, the unique amalgamation of spices found in Indian cuisine (something I have yet to come near to mastering), or the fragrance of some food imbued with green tea. This time, I suddenly wanted a Mediterranean favorite of mine: hummus. Luck was on my side — I found myself free this weekend and off I went…

Hummus at an AngleIn truth, my mom has made hummus before, but it never quite hit the mark like store-bought hummus did for me. However, I was willing to take a chance and I’m glad I did! I must say that I succeeded… and I will never buy store-bought hummus again. (Unless I find myself in a dire situation that I need hummus right then and there.)

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
(makes around 2 cups; based on An Edible Mosaic)

INGREDIENTS
1 16-oz can of Chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 Roasted Red Bell Pepper, drainer (about 1/2 cup)
2 tablespoons of Tahini (Sesame Paste)
2 tablespoons of Lemon Juice
1/2 teaspoon of Ground Cumin
1/2 teaspoon of Ground Paprika
1/4 teaspoon of Salt
1 tablespoon of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, for garnishing
A sprinkle of Ground Paprika, for garnishing

INSTRUCTIONS
Combine all hummus ingredients except for the olive oil in a food processor and puree until smooth. To serve, spread the hummus in a shallow dish, drizzle the oil on top, and sprinkle on a little more smoked paprika.

NOTES

  • I doubled the recipe because some of it was going to be brought to a potluck, by using 3 15-oz cans of chickpeas, a 12-oz jar of roasted pepper, and I doubled the remaining measurements in not-quite-leveled teaspoons and tablespoons. I normally like to roast my own peppers, but there was a sale on a jar of them and we needed to use it… so I did.
  • While rinsing, I noticed that some of the chickpeas were “shedding” their skin. I remember reading that taking off this skin would result in a smoother hummus, so I proceeded to lightly roll the chickpeas around to slough off the skin before removing them adding it into the processing bowl.
  • It pureed for a good five minutes before it got to a less grainy texture.
  • That lemon juice made it tangy and delicious – it could have doubled as a store-bought product and I loved it! I admit that while emptying the hummus into storage containers that I left a good amount behind so I could lick it off in the process of cleaning. No worries – I washed it again with soap!

 Top View of Hummus

Leave a Reply

