A Bit of Morning Cheer

People tend to take things for granted until they don’t have it anymore or unable to do it. For me, it’s the same. I was your regular bum for 4 months after I returned from Korea. I could wake up when I wanted, sleep when I wanted, go out when I wanted, be lazy when I wanted, cook when I wanted, eat when I wanted… I got crazy from the utter freedom of it all (odd thought: too much freedom and lack of things to do) that I was begging for even the smallest jobs to take up my time. Before that, I was living alone so it was somewhat similar (other than the fact that I worked full time).

Now that I find myself with a job, I miss those little freedoms that I didn’t think much of. I miss waking up to my own internal clock and I miss taking my time preparing my breakfast. I miss sleeping whenever I wanted because I didn’t need to be somewhere at some point in time in the morning and I miss taking random trips out of the house for the sake of just getting out. One of the things I really miss is cooking and baking in general. Sure, when I was in charge of it, it got tiring – sometimes, after a long day at work, you don’t particularly want to go slave over the stove to make yourself something to eat – but now, I miss it.

Finally, I’m working from home today because I caught some sort of wayward bug in an attempt to get more rest. The first thing I did: browse through my ever-growing list of recipes to try on the off-chance I ever get around to them and I picked something simple for breakfast. After all, I’m still working.

Strawberries and Cream - close up

Grain-free Strawberries ‘n Cream Porridge
(original recipe here | serves 2)

– 1-1/2 cups of Milk of Your Choice
– 6 tablespoons of Coconut Flour
– 2 Eggs
– 1/8 teaspoon of Salt
– 1 tablespoon of Honey (or alternative sweetener of choice)
– 1 tablespoon of Coconut Oil (or Butter)
– 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of Strawberries (or other fruit at hand), chopped
– 1 tablespoon of Flax Seed Powder (optional)

 

In a small saucepan, whisk the first 6 ingredients and bring it to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Once simmering/boiling, stir for an additional 3 minutes or so until thick and creamy. Stir in the strawberries and serve warm.

It was delicious and simple – but note that if you’re ever on a time crunch and decide you want to try it, don’t try to make it “instant” by adding in hot water and stirring. It won’t work (I tried) – the coconut flour will stay grainy though it does thicken and if you’re sick with an easily irritated throat, it’s not a good idea. You’ll need to thoroughly cook this stuff, but it takes about 5 minutes of cooking time, tops. Speaking of which, this was my first time working with coconut flour and it’s expensive, but the end product is very fragrant and flavorful, despite the utter simplicity of its components – but I suppose that’s what makes it good.

Breakfast
I made my version with Almond Milk and Coconut Oil, because I was making it for my sister as well, who is sadly lactose intolerant.

Leave a Reply

