[RECIPE] Christmas Shortbread

I’ve been on my holiday vacation for the past week and today was the first time I had time to do anything related to the kitchen. I decided that I needed a Me Day – and so I stayed home (minus the 15-minute run to the local market for last-minute ingredients) and decided to bake something new and do a bit of cooking.

I ended up settling on these pretty shortbread cookies. Christmas spiced, you say? Brown sugar? It intrigued me – and I love shortbread. The only reason why I don’t make it as much is the amount of butter you need. However, it is the holidays and in the spirit of the holidays, I present to you the following:

Shortbread

Christmas Spiced Brown Sugar Shortbread
[based off of this recipe]
makes 35-40 cookies

INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 cups of All Purpose Flour
1/2 cup of Whole Wheat Flour
1 cup of Unsalted Butter, Softened
1/2 cup of Brown Sugar, packed
1 1/2 tsp of Ground Cinnamon
1 tsp of Ground Ginger
1/4 tsp of Ground Cardamom
1/4 tsp of Ground Nutmeg
1/4 tsp of Salt

INSTRUCTIONS
Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Prepare a two sheets of baking/parchment paper and place on a baking sheet.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar with a hand mixer until combined well. Add the flours, spices, and salt and continue to mix until homogeneous and form into a ball. Move the ball onto the parchment paper on the baking sheet and with the second paper on top, roll out the dough into a rough rectangular shape and until 1/2 inch thick.

Refrigerate for at least 15 minutes. This results in easy cutting and prevents it from rising too much.

Remove from the refrigerator and cut out evenly shaped cookies so they will bake equally – squares or rectangles, etc – and prick with a fork. Place unbaked cookies on the baking sheet prepared with parchment paper and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Cool before eating – enjoy!

NOTES/COMMENTS

  • I added slightly less than the full 1/2 cup of brown sugar and I completely forgot about the salt. However, it still tasted great – the slightly crumbly texture of the shortbread and the hint of something different – deeper and… well, tasting of the holiday season. It was a hit!
  • I started off trying to cut out 1×3 rectangles but towards the end, they resembled squares. I only used the hand mixer to cream the sugar and butter. After that, I had fun mixing the dough with my hands.
  • I rolled out the dough between my single silpat (I really need to get another one) and a sheet of parchment paper directly on a baking sheet so all I needed was a big enough spot in my fridge to slightly harden the dough. I ended up baking them on the paper – it still is shortbread and it did contain a good amount of butter – for a little over 15 minutes. My dough was slightly browner than the original pictures (also since I added more spices), but it still came out great. A definite repeat annual recipe. 🙂
Leave a Reply

