Have You Taken Your O.W.L.s?

I used to be a humongous Harry Potter fan – after I joined the bandwagon late, that is, and only because my mom was so curious why so many people were crazy about the series, so she added Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban to my stack of books at the library. That started something that utterly consumed me – hello, fanfiction! – and I would start incorporating terms into my daily speech, not to mention a light British accent. Yes, I was a bit obsessed…

All right, I’ll be right there after I apparate on over – what are the coordinates again?

Okay. I kid. It was more like:

You know what? I wish I could disapparate and apparate. I could get anywhere in no time!

If only I could accio my laptop over to me right now…

If I could, I would crucio – wait, I don’t hate you THAT much –Β sectumsempra you right now!!!

But then life got ahead of me and I stopped having as much free time and once the last book was finished, it just decreased to a simmer, though I still made it to opening nights for the remaining Harry Potter films. However, I recently heard about the Real Life O.W.L.s (Ordinary Wizarding Levels) – you know, sort of like the Pre-SAT’s (for those under the American education system)… or the SAT’s whereas I always saw the NEWTs as another form of the SATs and the GRE. They’re, of course, based on the books, among other things, and I decided that I must try it – however do note that the last day to take any of the O.W.L.s is on June 24th. There are a total of 12 O.W.L.s, one for each subject, though I’m sure you can choose which to take:

  • Muggle Studies
  • Potions
  • Ancient Runes
  • Magical Creatures
  • Arithmancy
  • Herbology
  • Astronomy
  • Charms
  • Transfiguration
  • Defense Against the Dark Arts
  • History of Magic
  • Divination

Here’s the “homepage” screenshot:

As you can see, I already took Muggle Studies so it’s no longer on the list. I chose that one first because I thought it was be easy and I thought it wouldn’t take too long, but it isn’t all that easy. It asks you some obscure things that I even took to using my resources to help me out. O_O That’s all I’ll say on that. I’m planning on taking as much as I can before the deadline. So, if you want to add onto your workload or was a hardcore Harry Potter fan…

Click HERE to take your O.W.L.s!!!

(remember, the last day to take them is June 24th)

4 thoughts on “Have You Taken Your O.W.L.s?

    • Oh, wow. I seem to be really out of the loop – I didn’t even know the NEWTs were offered… or maybe I heard of it in passing and was held up in Life and it slipped my mind. :/ Getting Exceeds Expectations is pretty awesome, still. πŸ™‚ They are the NEWTs!

      Why do you say that about the OWLs? :/ I’ve only taken one because I want to be fully prepared in in the right mind when taking the next one…

      • haha… so THAT’s why! πŸ˜‰ I often find that the chances of getting a higher score while randomly answering is about the same – if not more – than when you actually try. Or at least that’s happened to me on several occasions and also that one time my sister and I were taking an IQ test. I thought out my answers and she just randomly picked on and moved onto the next question. She scored slightly higher than me.

        I hated that. 😦

        Anyway, you should still totally try out the O.W.L.s! ^^

Leave a Reply

