Wheatgrass: Bring on the Green!

The first time I heard of it, a bunch of question marks popped up in my head. Wheat… grass? I decided that it must be one of those new-fangled foods that’s been proven in studies to be beneficial for one’s health. I also decided it didn’t sound remotely appealing.

In truth, it really does resemble the grass in my front lawn, though perhaps more on the delicate side. Then one day, the enthusiastic health nut that my mom is, she decided to order a shot of wheatgrass at Jamba Juice. She made the most disgusted face (at the taste) ever, which was interesting, because she’s one of those people who will eat anything that is good for one’s health – no complaints. Well, her facial expression said enough, I thought. Thereon after, I didn’t hear much about this plant until my mom somehow wanted to buy a box of fresh wheatgrass because she saw them at our local Central Market (the more up-scale version of HEB) – about 8 bucks for a good amount of those little, organic green sprigs.

I decided there was no harm in it. I could just throw some into my morning smoothie and blend it together with some other goodies. I wouldn’t taste it at all. So I did and it’s been two weeks after I began – still on the same box even though I use a good chunk of the Power Health Food each time, especially since my mom insists on drinking a cup of it daily as well. You can’t really taste it all that well, but there is something to note: make sure you blend it really well or you’ll have these hair-like fibers that’ll end up stuck on your teeth. I imagine that’s what it feels like to have a hairball; those poor cats.

So then, I began wondering what exactly was it good for? I mean, yes, I knew it was good, but for what? My eyes? My hair? My personality? I kid. Anyway, I decided to do a little bit of research. The following are some things of note that I found from various sites (one, two, three, four) for raw wheatgrass (so don’t cook it):

  • Wheatgrass is full of a ton of minerals, proteins, enzymes [great for anti-aging], and amino acids – more than any other green vegetable – totaling in over 100 necessary elements needed by us human beings in just one plant.
  • Wheatgrass is rich in chlorophyll – 70% to be exact – so it’s great for oxygenating your body and cleansing it as it’s a natural antibacterial agent.
  • Wheatgrass rebuilds the blood stream so if you have problems with anemia, blood sugar, blood pressure, or have a low red blood cell count, this is for you.
  • Wheatgrass might even be helpful for those with fertility problems as it helps rebuild sex hormones.
  • Wheatgrass detoxifies most beautifully by washing out drug deposits, neutralises bodily toxins, and purifies the liver. Oh yes – it’s also a natural deodorant.
  • A study showed that “15 pounds of Wheatgrass is the equivalent of 350 pounds of carrot, lettuce, celery, and so forth”. For some more equivalents, wheatgrass has more Vitamin C than oranges and twice the amount of Vitamin A in carrots.
  • It’s great for dental health problems (just swish some wheatgrass juice in your mouth) as well as a possible method against grey hair. Whoa – gotta get my dad on the bandwagon for that latter point.
  • Wheatgrass is a great way to fight constipation and is an excellent enema (must be all that fiber) – generally anything for the colons as it’s high in magnesium.
  • Against the idea of premature-aging – or just looking old in general? Well, wheatgrass has a cure for that as well!
  • Used topically, it’s good for burns and itches.
  • Do you enjoy going into areas of high radiation (or have a bad habit of staring at your food heat up in the microwave)? Well, wheatgrass is there for you!

Well then, I guess I’ll be getting another box of this stuff when I’ve gone through the current one. 🙂 If you’re a newbie… just don’t take a shot of wheatgrass without being prepared. I don’t remember exactly how it tasted, but it’s an acquired taste – not horrible, just distinct.

Leave a Reply

