JUNIEL and Yonghwa – Debut Single Duet

I admittedly tend to stay away from female singers. It’s not that I don’t appreciate them, but it’s because most some of them tend to have these really high-pitched voices that grate on my nerves or they try too hard to be cute. Perhaps it’s also because it strains my voice box too much when I try to reach those high notes when singing along, but that’s not the point. As a result, I find myself sticking to more androgynous type female celebrities if I do end up following them. However, there is one general exception: duets. I find that the male parts balance out the female one and I like contrasts and they’re usually cute (I really liked that duet by Wang Lee Hom and Candy Lo, because the male part was sung in Mandarin and the female parts in Cantonese; it helps that her voice doesn’t go too high).

Well, recently, there has been news of a new singer-songwriter by the name of JUNIEL (주니엘), who is apparently new to the Korean music scene but has already released a mini album (Ready Go) and a single album (Forever) in Japan, following her win on the Japanese version of American Idol, Niji Iro Supernova. Now, she’s signed under FNC Entertainment (under which both CN Blue and F.T. Island are signed under) and her debut album, titled My First June, is set to be released on June 7th.

The track list is as follows:
(01)  llla llla
(02) Ready Go!
(03) Everlasting Sunset
(04) Mask
(05) Stupid (with CN Blue’s Jung Yonghwa)

**links added 2012.06.08

As her album hasn’t come out yet, I can only base my opinions on her duet with Yonghwa. She looked cute as most Asian female singers do, but I admit the primary reason I decided to listen to the video was because the teaser sounded good and it was Jung Yonghwa.

I have a soft spot for artists who also compose and write their own music and acoustic songs are a favorite. When I listened to it once the music video was released, it sounded really sweet and the video was simple but cute, conveying the message of that Honeymoon stage perfectly. This is when I get sad that I can’t embed videos on here, but here’s the link. After some perusal and after singing along with the Korean lyrics, I decided that I wanted the actual translations instead of the basic meaning that I understood from the original Korean lyrics (other than that bit with English). Here are the Korean lyrics with the English translations, taken from here. I’ve just put them together in a text form to make it more convenient.

—–

주니엘 – 바보
JUNIEL – Stupid

너와 나 친구라는 말이 어색해
For you and I, the word ‘friends’ is a little unnatural for us
연인이란 말이 어울려
It’s better to use the word ‘lovers’
오 난 처음으로 내 맘 고백할게
Oh, I~ for the first time will say how I feel
난 저 하늘의 별도 따줄게
Even those stars in the sky, I will bring them for you
니가 원한다면 뭐든지 오 난 해 줄 수가 있어
No matter what you want, Oh, I~, will be able to do it for you

Oh I love you love you love you, You love me love me love me
Oh I love you love you love you, You love me love me love me
알아 (알아) 날 향한 너의 마음을 (너의 마음을)
I know (I know) how you feel about me (your feelings)
Oh I love you love you love you, Are you love me love me baby
Oh I love you love you love you, Are you love me love me baby
나도 (나도) 너를 사랑하니까
Me too, because I love you too

# 난 바보 난 너만 보는 (난 바보) 바보 널 사랑해
I’m an idiot, I’m an idiot who only sees you – I love you
누가 뭐라고 놀린데도 너만 보는 바보가 될게
Even if someone says or teases me, I will only look at you like a fool
바보 난 너만 보는 (난 바보) 바보
An idiot, I’m an idiot who only sees you (I’m an idiot)
내 손을 잡아줘 나를 안아줘 너만 사랑하는 바보
Hold my hand, give me a hug; I’m an idiot who only loves you

난 너만 생각하다 잠들어
While thinking of you and I fall asleep
꿈속에서 너만 꿈꾸다 오 난 아침을 깨운데
I look for you in my dreams, Oh~ I wake up in the morning

Oh I love you love you love you, You love me love me love me
Oh I love you love you love you, You love me love me love me
알아 (알아) 날 향한 너의 마음을 (너의 마음을)
I know (I know) how you feel about me (your feelings)
Oh I love you love you love you, Are you love me love me baby
Oh I love you love you love you, Are you love me love me baby
나도 (나도) 너를 사랑하니까
Me, too, because I love you too

# 난 바보 난 너만 보는 (난 바보) 바보 널 사랑해
I’m an idiot, I’m an idiot who only sees you – I love you
누가 뭐라고 놀린데도 너만보는 바보가 될게
Even if someone says or teases me, I will only look at you like a fool
바보 난 너만 보는 (난 바보) 바보
An idiot, I’m an idiot who only sees you (I’m an idiot)
내 손을 잡아줘 나를 안아줘 너만 사랑하는 바보
Hold my hand, give me a hug; I’m an idiot who only loves you

Baby want your love (Baby want your love), Baby want your love
love you love you I’ll take you in to my mind
Baby want your love (oh oh oh oh oh), Baby want your love
Oh oh

# 난 바보 난 너만 보는 바보 고마운걸
I’m an idiot, I’m an idiot who only sees you and I’m really grateful
친구들 모두 부러워해 나만 보는 바보 때문에
All my friends are jealous, because of the fool who only sees me
바보 넌 나만 보는 (난 바보) 바보
An idiot, you’re an idiot who only sees me
언제나 믿을게 우리 함께해 둘만 바라보는 바보
I will believe you, let’s be together
둘만 바라보는 바보
The two idiots who only look at each other

Baby want your love (Baby want your love), Baby want your love
love you love you I’ll take you in to my mind
Baby want your love (Baby want your love), Baby want your love
love you love you I’ll take you in to my mind

—–

All I can say is that I’ll be looking forward to Juniel’s new album to see what she has in store, even though her higher pitched voice does strain my vocal cords, since this song was written and co-produced by Yonghwa… So what’s the point of this? Well, this duet’s been my favorite song for the past three days. I JUST HAD TO DEDICATE A POST TO IT. However, they really should get someone to look over the English – Are you love me? Really??

Leave a Reply

