[PLACE] Tiny Boxwood’s

Earlier today, I had a brunch date with a new friend I met off of Couch Surfers, an awesome site that allows people from around the world meet each other and travel together. In addition, people can travel and “couch surf” and get to know new friends. An excerpt from their About Page —

With millions of members in over 230 countries and territories around the world, CouchSurfing is blazing the trail towards a better, friendlier world where people who are different from one another can find their similarities. We are a community, and we are a movement. If you believe that all types of people can share fun, trust, and friendship, then you belong here.

When you join CouchSurfing, you tap into our network of welcoming people worldwide. You can share your hospitality and experience your city through new eyes by offering travelers a place to stay on their journey. You can bypass the typical hotel experience by staying at the home of a local and learning about their culture. You can join cool and interesting people for anything from a bike ride to a party using CouchSurfing Activities. And you can meet up with new people, whether at home or while traveling, for inspiring experiences and new friendships.

I’m a recent member of this awesome community, but I love the idea. 🙂 Anyway, my new Couch Surfing buddy and I decided to meet over a meal at a cute little place called Tiny Boxwood’s at the intersection of Saint and Alabama.

I had gone there once or twice before a couple of years back and I had good memories and food to go with it, so it was about time I returned – with my camera. The cafe is open with wide windows and despite the overcast weather and sprinkling of rain, the atmosphere was still welcoming and had that little something. Tiny Boxwood’s also has a large outdoor seating area (my last visit was on a sunny, weekend day and the lawn was full of people – families, couples, friends, and coworkers alike) and is connected to a nursery. On the weekends, they also have a special brunch menu. I went on a Tuesday and arrived at 10:45 am, so there were several occupied tables, but as lunch time neared (and the precipitation ceased), the outdoor seating filled up as well.

I love how their menu is fully handwritten on a large chalkboard; I find that it adds character and charm to the establishment. Shortly after I took this, a staff member wrote in the Soup of the Week.

Even though I don’t quite remember exactly what I ordered previously, I remember that they never failed me – plus I ordered off of their brunch menu, so it’s different from what is pictured here. I just love the presentation and the quality of the foods. The soft, instrumental music only added to it and made me think that I was no longer in Houston, but in some quiet little place (until more patrons arrived) in the countryside, enjoying my soup mug full of Vanilla Latte while waiting for the other half of my party to arrive and watching the Giant Clock That Doesn’t Work (I love that clock and I want one of my own).

You couldn’t order off of the lunch menu until exactly 11, but I already knew what I wanted. Two friends who arrived before I did were raving about a certain item that I never had before and it peaked my interest, so I read the name and description on the menu:

JUST “BEET IT” BURGER*
roasted beet & black bean patty
with chipotle aioli

I thought it sounded divine – I love roasted beets – and I also have the choice of a side of either frites (or fries), fresh fruit, orzo pasta, or chips. I love options when it comes to food. Of course, this may be a bad thing because there’s the added complication of not knowing what to get, but in this case, when I read “orzo pasta”, my salivary glands started to work so I knew exactly what to get.

My CS buddy ordered the same thing. She also ordered a glass of Mint Lemonade, which she recommended. I believe I’ll be trying that out on my next visit! I didn’t finish my entire meal, so to-go containers were requested. My mom was home and she tried them all. She’s a bit adverse to goat cheese, which was in the orzo pasta (I love cheeses of all sorts so I loved it), but she was very much intrigued with the patty and its contents. I’ve assured her I know how to return to the place with the entire family.

Awesome.

Leave a Reply

