[HEALTH] Preparations for the Bod

This is an Apple with Dr. Mehmet Oz’s face on it. The reason why I decided on this Apple was because I couldn’t decide on which photo to use.. and I thought that was an awesomely shiny apple, though I admit that I can’t stomach them – for some odd reason, the taste and texture of the Apple was always off-putting to me, though I love them cooked, baked, or juiced. Anything but raw, please.

My mom watches his show every weekday at 3pm almost religiously and, as I’m feeling somewhat drowsy today, I decided to rest my head on her stomach while I watched today’s episode, which is titled the Swimsuit Slimdown Plan. Well, on this episode, Apple-ized Dr. Oz gave the audience (and viewers) several tips on how to get closer to achieving that ‘perfect’ swimsuit body that seems to be out-of-reach:

  • Sip Smart: before every meal, drink the magical fat-burning drink, which is exploding with tons of Vitamin C. Vitamin C helps you burn more fat, especially during exercise.
The Recipe to Smart Sipping
– 1 cup of Grapefruit Juice
– 2 tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar
– 1 teaspoon of Honey (optional)
Mix the grapefruit juice and vinegar together and enjoy. If too tart, then add honey, which adds only 20 calories to the end product.
  • Slimdown Salad: for lunch, have a fat-fighting salad that consists of dandelion greens (has protein, helps stimulate bile flow, is a mild diuretic), watermelon (has the amino acid arginine, which has shown to promote weight loss), and parsley (reduces bloating).
The Components to the Salad that Slims You Down Even More
– 1 bunch of Dandelion Greens, torn into bite-sized pieces
– 1 cup of Watermelon, cubed
– Fresh Parsley, finely chopped
  • Fight Cellulite: try Aminophyllin cream (~$40/bottle) and apply twice a day to reduce the appearance of cellulite.
  • Swimsuit Sculpt: there are two exercises that consist of (1) doing lunges to target your thighs and glutes with 3 forward and 3 back on each leg [hold weights if too easy] and (2) tightening your belly by working out your core via the plank position by getting on your stomach and lifting your body up onto your toes and elbows (with your buttocks at shoulder level), being sure to tighten the abdominal muscles towards the spine and hold for 30 seconds up to a minute at a time.

I honestly hate summer so the thing furthest from my mind is going anywhere that would require me to don on swimwear. What’s the point of this, then? Well, even though fitting in a bathing suit – whether or not it’s a one or two-piece – doesn’t really appeal to me, I’ve noticed that in the 2.5 months since I’ve returned to the States, my comparatively inactive lifestyle has taken affect on my body. I find myself a lot less toned and a lot more flabby – which seriously bugs me. I even caught a hint of a double chin in a recent photo of me.

As a result, I decided that on my next trip to the market, I am going to try Dr. Oz’s juice concoction (though before lunch and dinner, since I have a 2-cup mug of smoothie for breakfast every morning) and grab myself some grapefruit juice. My parents occasionally drink straight up Apple Cider Vinegar, so I already have that, along with honey, which goes into my breakfast smoothie. Which reminds me – I once thought drinking vinegar was an odd concept, but I found something interesting in Korea:

They have an entire aisle, of which at least half of it is taken up by bottles and bottles of drinking vinegar. Yes, they sell vinegar made for drinking. They come in various flavors like pomegranate, blueberry, and even more unique ones like ginseng and sweet potato, but the difference is that though the vinegar taste is very much present, they also tend to add a bit of sugar to it to make it more palatable, among other things. Don’t fret; you still need to dilute it to at least a 1:3 (vinegar to water) ratio so it’s not overwhelmingly sweet or strong. Anyway, so I won’t need to reword things, here are some excerpts from a site whose writer already did the research and recorded it for others’ benefit–

Vinegar, a kind of liquid yielded from fermentation process, is generally believed to have health benefits in a few ways. It is believed to lower cholesterol, soothe stomach ache, improve skin tone, or help lose weight.

 

…Vinegar drinks produced in Korea have reinforced these organic acids during natural fermentation process and lowered acid concentration from typical 5~6% to 2~3% to make it easier to drink. Especially vinegars made out of 100% fruit, for example 100% gamsikcho (persimmon vinegar) or 100% goguma hongcho (sweet red potato red vinegar) have more antioxidants as well as plenty of organic acids. Also, Korean-produced honey and more fiber are added to these vinegars for sweeter taste.

One of my friends had bought a bottle out of curiosity and on one of our Cook Nights at her place, she introduced it to me. I loved it; it’s like water with a tart and lightly sweet taste. I ended up getting my own bottle and I drank it as my post-taekwondo drink daily with some cold water, at at 1:4 ratio and I loved it. By the end of my stay, I had gone through three 1-liter bottles and it was only because my luggage was already fit till bursting that I couldn’t bring a bottle with me. I’ll be sure to make room in my luggage just for a bottle or two the next time I visit Korea.

Leave a Reply

